A New Dress

As those who follow this blog have seen, I was very excited to sew my first set of historically inspired underpinnings back in the winter/spring. I did it mostly for the experience and to learn how to sew by hand. My sister challenged me to enter the chemise into our county fair and I actually placed in the adult division with it! I was so excited to receive a ribbon for my 100% hand sewn and finished dress. To see that project click HERE.

I have now officially started the next project in this stage of historically inspired sewing projects. Technically, this new project is inspired by a film that was inspired by a book which was published in 1908, but I’m considering the whole thing historically inspired.

Stock-Image-Separator-GraphicsFairy21

So without further ado, a preview of the fabric for this project:

The fabric is polyester imitation satin and organza because I don’t exactly have the pocket book yet for authentic silk. However, it looks almost identical and I am beyond enthusiastic about starting this project. The sash will be a deep royal purple, and the dress and overlay ivory. The inspiration for this dress is the ivory organza and satin striped overlay worn by Anne during her concert at the White Sands Hotel (1985 rendition). The only striped organza I could find almost anywhere was in England and LA and it would take 2 weeks to get here…neither the time or the price fit into my design constraints, so crushed imitation organza seemed equally lovely 😉

This will be an exciting project. I hope to post the finished results once I have reached that point. The plan is to have it finished in time for an upcoming Christmas Ball.

Wish me luck 🙂

~God Bless!~

Stock-Image-Separator-GraphicsFairy21

Leave a Reply

